Quality management in assembly of bacterial type III secretion systems – a comparative analysis of the construction of flagella and injectisomes


Protein export via type III secretion systems (T3SS) is essential for the self-assembly of bacterial flagella as well as for construction and function of virulence-associated injectisomes of many Gram-negative pathogens, including Salmonella enterica. Flagella are rotary devices that facilitate movement of bacteria on surfaces and through liquid environments. In contrast, injectisomes secrete and inject a great diversity of bacterial effector proteins through a needle-like appendix into eukaryotic host cells.
The core T3SS is a sophisticated protein secretion machine and is made of five highly conserved proteins (FliPQR FlhBA / SpaPQRS InvA) that form the actual export apparatus at the base of flagella and injectisomes. We could recently show that productive assembly of the T3SS export apparatus is essential for the construction of these nanomachines and involves in case of the flagellar T3SS a dedicated membrane-integrated assembly chaperone, FliO. Based on our previous work and additional preliminary results, we hypothesize that assembly of the export apparatus is highly regulated and coordinated on multiple levels, including translation initiation, membrane integration, and sub-complex formation.

Accordingly, the goal of this study is to obtain a mechanistic understanding of the molecular quality control mechanisms that allow bacteria to coordinate the assembly of the T3SS export apparatus of both the flagellum and injectisome by performing an in-depth comparative analysis of these two related systems in Salmonella enterica. In particular, we aim to elucidate (i) how the flagellum-specific, integral membrane chaperone FliO and signal peptide of FliP facilitates complex formation of the core flagellar export apparatus, (ii) to identify the relevance of the highly conserved gene order of fliPQR/spaPQR for assembly of the export apparatus, and (iii) to dissect the role of translational coupling of the genes of these export apparatus components during co-translational membrane targeting, insertion and assembly at the sec-translocon.
Central methods of our analysis are besides classical approaches of molecular biology, bacterial genetics, and membrane protein targeting: selective ribosome profiling to investigate translation and co-translational targeting of export apparatus proteins; cysteine accessibility screens to analyse the topogenesis of export apparatus proteins; luciferase-based reporter systems to assess the efficiency of translation and the function of T3SSs; and in vivo photocrosslinking, crosslinking-mass spectrometry, and blue native PAGE to analyse protein-protein interactions and assembly of protein complexes.
The evolutionarily related and experimentally very accessible T3SS export apparatus components represent excellent model systems to elucidate basic principles of quality management and coordination of membrane protein assembly processes using these techniques in a comparative analysis.

Principal Investigators
Erhardt, Marc Prof. Dr. (Details) (Bacterial Physiology)

Duration of Project
Start date: 10/2019
End date: 09/2022

Research Areas
Metabolism, Biochemistry and Genetics of Microorganisms

Last updated on 2021-04-01 at 17:50

Qualitätsmanagement während der Assemblierung von bakteriellen Typ-III Sekretionssystemen – eine vergleichende Studie des Aufbaus von Flagellen und Injektisomen


Der Proteinexport durch Typ-III Sekretionssysteme (T3SS) ist ein wesentlicher Prozess für die Selbstassemblierung von bakteriellen Flagellen, sowie für den Zusammenbau und die Funktion von Virulenz-assoziierten Injektisomen vieler gramnegativer Pathogene, einschließlich Salmonella enterica. Flagellen erlauben es Bakterien sich auf Oberflächen und in Flüssigkeiten zu bewegen. Injektisome hingegen dienen der Translokation einer Vielzahl verschiedener bakterieller Effektorproteine in eukaryotische Wirtszellen.
Das T3SS besteht aus fünf hochkonservierten Proteinen (FliPQR FlhBA / SpaPQRS InvA), welche auf der Basis von Flagellen und Injektisomen den eigentlichen Exportapparat bilden. Wir konnten vor kurzem zeigen, dass die produktive Assemblierung des T3SS Exportapparats essenziell für den weiteren Aufbau von Flagellen und Injektisomen ist und, im Fall des Flagellums, ein dediziertes membrangebundenes Chaperon benötigt. Basierend auf diesen Erkenntnissen und weiterer Voruntersuchungen stellen wir die Hypothese auf, dass die Assemblierung des Exportapparats auf mehreren Ebenen stark reguliert und koordiniert ist, einschließlich der Translationsinitiation, der Membranintegration und Bildung von Sub-Komplexen.

Wir streben daher durch eine vergleichende Analyse von Flagellen und Injektisomen von Salmonella enterica an, ein mechanistisches Verständnis des Qualitätsmanagements zu erlangen, welches es Bakterien ermöglicht die produktive Assemblierung des T3SS Exportapparats zu koordinieren. Insbesondere beabsichtigen wir zu untersuchen, (i) wie das Assemblierungschaperon FliO und das Signalpeptid in der Exportapparatkomponente FliP die produktive Bildung des flagellaren Exportapparats ermöglicht; (ii) welche Rolle die stark konservierte Anordnung der Gene der Exportapparatkomponenten FliPQR/SpaPQR für die Komplexassemblierung spielt; und (iii) welche Bedeutung der translationalen Kopplung von Exportapparatkomponenten in Zusammenhang mit kotranslationalem Membrantargeting, Membraninsertion und Assemblierung am Sec-Translokon zukommt.

Zentrale Methoden unserer Analyse sind neben klassischen Techniken der Molekularbiologie, der bakteriellen Genetik und des Membranproteintargetings: selective ribosome profiling zur Untersuchung der Translation und des kotranslationalen Targetings der Exportapparatkomponenten; Analyse der Topogenese mittels Cystein-Punktmutationen; Luciferase-basierte Reportersysteme für die Analyse der Translation und Funktion von T3SS; sowie in vivo photocrosslinking, crosslinking-Massenspektrometrie und blue native PAGE zur Analyse von Protein-Protein Interaktionen und der Assemblierung von Proteinkomplexen.

Die evolutionär verwandten und experimentell sehr zugänglichen Komponenten des T3SS Exportapparats sind ein exzellentes Modellsystem, um mittels dieser Methoden grundlegende Prinzipien des Qualitätsmanagements und der Koordinierung der Assemblierungsprozesse von Membranproteinkomplexen in einer vergleichenden Analyse zu untersuchen.

Projektleitung
Erhardt, Marc Prof. Dr. (Details) (Bakterienphysiologie)

Beteiligte externe Organisationen

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 10/2019
Projektende: 09/2022

Forschungsbereiche
Stoffwechselphysiologie, Biochemie und Genetik der Mikroorganismen

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2021-08-07 um 15:10