Elucidation of the photo-assembly mechanism of the native and modified water oxidation catalysts in photosystem II

Biocatalytic coupling of photosystem I with FDH and CODH supercomplexes

Oxygen photosynthesis in green plants, algae and cyanobacteria is catalyzed by two large membrane protein complexes Photosystem I (PSI) and Photosystem II (PSII). Both complexes contain a reaction center (RC) that conducts a light-driven charge transfer across the thylakoid membrane, forming a radical pair P+A- of an oxidized primary donor P and a reduced acceptor A in picoseconds. The strong oxidant P+ is able to abstract electrons from water in the oxygen-evolving complex (OEC), a protein-bound Mn4CaO5 cluster. The OEC passes through five intermediate states (S-states) corresponding to the successive abstraction of four electrons from H2O. In this way, the four-electron reaction 2 H2O  O2 + 4e- + 4 H+ is coupled to the one-electron reaction in the RC. Despite the recent progress in the structure elucidation of the dimeric PSII core complex (dPSIIcc), the mechanism of the light-driven assembly of the Mn4CaO5 cluster has remained elusive. Very recently, we obtained a crystal structure of PSII fully depleted of the Mn4CaO5 cluster at 2.55 Å resolution (apo-PSII). This structure can serve as a basis for understanding the mechanism of OEC assemply. Within the framework of the UniSysCat cluster the fundamental understanding of the dynamic water oxidation reaction in PSII under physiological conditions is a crucial prerequisite for the design of artificial water-oxidizing catalysts. Hence, a systematic investigation of the photo-assembly of the Mn4CaO5 clusters into apo-dPSII single crystals is planned and the dynamic light-induced structure of the Mn4CaO5 cluster in PSII is to be decoded. This would provide import information for the synthesis of artificial water-splitting catalysts.

Learning from nature, light-to-charge carrier converting proteins from oxygenic photosynthesis of plants and cyanobacteria are of high interest for the construction of new functional devices. One of the most promising light-converting complexes is photosystem I (PSI) because of its high quantum efficiency (~100%), fast and stable charge separation and a proper spectral overlap with our sun. PSI from the thermophilic cyanobacterium Thermosynechococcus elongatus (T. elongatus) is a trimeric pigment-protein supercomplex consisting of 12 different protein subunits, harboring 96 chlorophylls a (Chl a) and 22 carotenoids per monomer. Most Chls serve as light-harvesting antenna pigments and 6 Chls form an electron transport chain. PSI catalyzes the light-driven transfer of an electron from reduced cytochrome c (Cyt cred) at the luminal side to oxidized ferredoxin (Fdox) at the stromal side. The charge separation in PSI occurs between the Chl a / Chl a´ heterodimer, named P700 and the primary acceptor named A0. The electron is subsequently transferred to a bound phyllochinone and then serially through three [4Fe-4S] clusters, FX, FA and FB, to a soluble [2Fe-2S] Fd. As part of the UniSysCat cluster the main objective of this project, in close collaboration with the working groups Leimkühler, Dobbek, Wendler, is the production of basic chemicals with light as an energy source. To achieve these long-term goals an artificial photosynthesis system will be established through coupling photochemical, PSI, and catalytic modules, e.g. formate dehydrogenase (FDH) or carbon monoxide dehydrogenase (CODH), for the construction of a light-driven formate or CO evolving device. To transfer electrons efficiently and with high quantum yield, we will use a molecular wire that covalently attaches the FB cluster of PSI to an iron-sulfur cluster of FDH or CODH.

Principal Investigators
Zouni, Athina PD Dr. (Details) (Honorary Chairs / Professors by Special Appointment / Part-Time Lecturers)

Further project members
Dobbek, Holger Prof. Dr. rer. nat. (Details) (Structural Biology / Biochemistry)
Hecht, Stefan Prof. (Details) (Organic Chemistry and Functional Materials)
Hegemann, Peter Prof. Dr. (Details) (Experimental Biophysics)
Limberg, Christian Prof. Dr. (Details) (Inorganic and General Chemistry I)

Duration of Project
Start date: 01/2019
End date: 12/2022

Related umbrella project

Research Areas
Basic Research in Biology and Medicine, Biophysics, Life Sciences, Molecular Chemistry, Natural Sciences, Physical and Theoretical Chemistry, Physical Chemistry of Molecules, Liquids and Interfaces, Biophysical Chemistry, Plant Biochemistry and Biophysics, Structural Biology

Research Areas
Erneuerbare Energien, Membran

Publications
Cheah, M. H.; Zhang, M.; Shevela, D.; Mamedov, F.; Zouni, A.; Messinger, J., Assessment of the manganese cluster’s oxidation state via photoactivation of photosystem II microcrystals. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 2019, 201915879.
https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.1915879117

Kern, J.; Müh, F.; Zouni, A., Structural studies on tetrapyrrole containing proteins enabled by femtosecond X-ray pulses. Metabolism, Structure and Function of Plant Tetrapyrroles: Control Mechanisms of Chlorophyll Biosynthesis and Analysis of Chlorophyll-Binding Proteins 2019, 33.
https://bit.ly/2PyaVSz

Ruocheng Han, Katharina Rempfer, Miao Zhang, Prof. Dr. Holger Dobbek, Prof. Dr. Athina Zouni, Prof. Dr. Holger Dau, Prof. Dr. Sandra Luber Investigating the Structure and Dynamics of Apo‑Photosystem II ChemCatChem, 21 June 2019,
https://doi.org/10.1002/cctc.201900351

Last updated on 2021-04-01 at 17:48

EXC 314/1 AG Zouni
Die Aufklärung des photo-induzierten Assemblierungsmechanismus, ausgehend von nativen und modifizierten Wasseroxidations-Katalysatoren des Photosystem II

Biokatalytische Kopplung von Photosystem I mit FDH und CO-DH Superkomplexen

Die oxygene Fotosynthese in Pflanzen, Algen und Cyanobakterien wird durch zwei große Membranproteinkomplexe katalysiert, Photosystem I (PSI) und Photosystem II (PSII). Beide Komplexe enthalten je ein Reaktionszentrum (RC), welches für den lichtgetriebenen Ladungstransfer über die Thylakoidmembran verantwortlich ist und dadurch innerhalb von Picosekunden die Bildung des Radikalpaar P+A- verursacht, bestehend aus einem oxidierten primären Donor P und einem reduzierten Akzeptor A. Das starke Oxidationsmittel P+ ist in der Lage, aus dem Wasser mittels eines Protein-gebundenen Mn4CaO5-Cluster des OEC, Elektronen zu extrahieren. Der OEC durchläuft fünf verschiedene Oxidationszustände („S-states“), welche der stufenweisen Entnahme von vier Elektronen aus dem Wasser entsprechen. In gewisser Weise ist die Vier-Elektronenreaktion 2 H2O  O2 + 4e- + 4 H+ der Wasseroxidation mit der Ein-Elektronen-Transfer-Reaktion im RC gekoppelt. Trotz den jüngsten Fortschritte in der Strukturaufklärung des dimeren PSII-Kernkomplexes (dPSIIcc) bleibt der Mechanismus des lichtgetriebenen Aufbaus des Mn4CaO5 Cluster weitestgehend unverstanden. Erst kürzlich erhielten wir eine Kristallstruktur bei einer Auflösung von 2.55 Å eines vollständig Mn4CaO5-Cluster-freien PSII (apo-PSIIcc). Diese Struktur kann als Grundlage dienen, um den Mechanismus des lichtgesteuerten OEC-Aufbaus zu verstehen. Innerhalb des Netzwerkes des UniSysCat-Clusters ist das grundlegende Verständnis der dynamischen Wasseroxidation in PSII unter physiologischen Bedingungen eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung für die Entwicklung künstlicher Wasser-oxidierende Katalysatoren.

Lernen von der Natur – Proteine der oxygenen Photosynthese von Pflanzen und Cyanobakterien sind als Licht-zu-Ladung konvertierende Carrier von großem Interesse für die Konstruktion neuer funktioneller (Bau-)Elemente. Wegen seiner hohen Quantenausbeute (100%), einer schnellen und stabilen Ladungstrennung und einer geeigneten Überlappung mit dem Sonnenspektrum ist Photosystem I (PSI) einer der vielversprechendsten Licht umwandelnden Komplexe. PSI des thermophilen Cyanobakteriums Thermosynechococcus elongatus (T. elongatus) ist ein trimerer Pigment-Protein-Superkomplex, welcher aus 12 verschiedenen Untereinheiten besteht und je Monomer 96 Chlorophyll a – Moleküle (Chl a) und 22 Carotinoide enthält. Die meisten Chlorophylle dienen als lichtsammelnde Antennenpigmente, wobei sechs der Chlorophylle die Elektronentransportkette bilden. PSI katalysiert den lichtgetriebenen Elektronentransfer vom reduzierten Cytochrom c (Cyt cred) an der luminalen Seite zum oxidierten Ferredoxin (Fdox) auf der Stromaseite. Die Ladungstrennung im PSI erfolgt zwischen dem Chl a / Chl a´ Heterodimer, dem P700, und dem Primärakzeptor A0. Anschließend wird das Elektron zunächst auf ein gebundenes Phyllochinon, dann fortlaufend über drei [4Fe-4S] Cluster auf ein lösliches [2Fe-2S] Fd übertragen. Als Teil des UniSysCat-Clusters ist das Hauptanliegen dieses Projektes, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Arbeitsgruppen Leimkühler, Dobbek und Wendler, die Synthese von einfachen Chemikalien durch Lichtenergie. Um diese langfristigen Ziele zu erreichen, wird ein künstliches Photosynthese-System entwickelt. Diese Systeme bestehen aus dem photochemischen Modul, dem PSI, und einem katalytischen Modul, z.B. der Formiatdehydrogenase (FDH) oder der Kohlenmonoxid-Dehydrogenase (CO-DH), um ein lichtgetriebenes Formiat- oder Kohlenmonoxid-produzierendes Element aufzubauen. Um Elektronen effizient und mit einer hohen Quantenausbeute weiterzuleiten, soll eine kovalente Bindung des FB-Clusters von PSI an ein Eisen-Schwefel-Cluster von FDH oder CO-DH durch ein „molekulares Kabel“ erreicht werden.

Projektleitung
Zouni, Athina PD Dr. (Details) (Honorar- und außerplanm. Profess. / Privatdoz. / Lehrbeauftragte)

Weitere Projektmitglieder
Dobbek, Holger Prof. Dr. rer. nat. (Details) (Strukturbiologie / Biochemie)
Hecht, Stefan Prof. (Details) (Organische Chemie und Funktionale Materialien)
Hegemann, Peter Prof. Dr. (Details) (Experimentelle Biophysik)
Limberg, Christian Prof. Dr. (Details) (Anorganische und Allgemeine Chemie I)

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 01/2019
Projektende: 12/2022

Zugehöriges Dachprojekt

Forschungsbereiche
Biochemie und Biophysik der Pflanzen, Biophysik, Grundlagen der Biologie und Medizin, Lebenswissenschaften, Molekülchemie, Naturwissenschaften, Physikalische Chemie von Molekülen, Flüssigkeiten und Grenzflächen - Spektroskopie, Kinetik, Physikalische und Theoretische Chemie, Strukturbiologie

Forschungsfelder
Erneuerbare Energien, Membran

Publikationen
Cheah, M. H.; Zhang, M.; Shevela, D.; Mamedov, F.; Zouni, A.; Messinger, J., Assessment of the manganese cluster’s oxidation state via photoactivation of photosystem II microcrystals. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 2019, 201915879.
https://doi.org/10.1073/pnas.1915879117

Kern, J.; Müh, F.; Zouni, A., Structural studies on tetrapyrrole containing proteins enabled by femtosecond X-ray pulses. Metabolism, Structure and Function of Plant Tetrapyrroles: Control Mechanisms of Chlorophyll Biosynthesis and Analysis of Chlorophyll-Binding Proteins 2019, 33.
https://bit.ly/2PyaVSz

Ruocheng Han, Katharina Rempfer, Miao Zhang, Prof. Dr. Holger Dobbek, Prof. Dr. Athina Zouni, Prof. Dr. Holger Dau, Prof. Dr. Sandra Luber Investigating the Structure and Dynamics of Apo‑Photosystem II ChemCatChem, 21 June 2019,
https://doi.org/10.1002/cctc.201900351

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2021-04-01 um 17:48