Promoting Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children's Theory of Mind and Emotion Understanding


The Strategic Partnership "Promoting Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children's Theory of Mind and Emotion Understanding" (ProToM) sets two goals. Firstly, a comprehensive evidence-based support program is to be both developed and scientifically tested. This program will enhance Theory of Mind competences (ToM) and emotional understanding (EU), as well as the associated sign language and spoken/written language skills of deaf and hard of hearing (DHH) children. Secondly, the innovative practice is going to be implemented at schools and in other educational institutions by raising awareness and by carrying out training of teachers in various European countries (including Germany, Greece, Cyprus, Switzerland).
The partnership jointly develops an innovative educational program:
a) It is strictly theory-driven and focuses on the different stages of development of ToM and the components of EU, as well as on spoken and/or sing language preceding skills.
b) It has a modular design, that will be, therefore, used in different educational settings (special education schools, mainstream/inclusive schools), taking into account the heterogeneity of DHH children.
All materials and a practice box will be available in different oral/signed languages and free of charge on a website.
The objectives will be jointly realized in a partnership of seven schools (special education schools and inclusive schools) and advisory and coordination centers, as well as four universities/research institutions from Germany, Greece, Cyprus and Switzerland.

Principal Investigators
Becker, Claudia Prof. Dr. (Details) (Sign Language Pedagogy and Audio Pedagogy)

Duration of Project
Start date: 12/2018
End date: 07/2021

Research Areas
Applied Linguistics, Experimental Linguistics, Computational Linguistics, Developmental and Educational Psychology, General and Domain-Specific Teaching and Learning

Research Areas
Erziehungswissenschaften, Inklusionsforschung, Lehrkräftebildung, Multilingualism, Psycholinguistik

Last updated on 2021-04-01 at 17:48

Promoting Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children's Theory of Mind and Emotion Understanding


Die Strategische Partnerschaft "Promoting Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children's Theory of Mind and Emotion Understanding" (ProToM) hat zum Ziel, ein evidenzbasiertes umfassendes Programm zur Förderung von Theory of Mind-Kompetenzen (ToM) und Emotionswissen (EW) sowie der dazugehörigen gebärden- und lautsprachlichen Kompetenzen hörgeschädigter Kinder zu entwickeln, wissenschaftlich zu erproben und durch Sensibilisieren und Schulung von Lehrkräften in verschiedenen europäischen Ländern (u.a. Deutschland, Griechenland, Zypern, Schweiz) zu implementieren. Die Partnerschaft entwickelt ein innovatives Förderprogramm, das
a) strikt theoriegeleitet an den verschiedenen Entwicklungsstufen von ToM und den Komponenten von EW sowie den dazugehörigen sprachlichen Fähigkeiten anknüpft,
b) modular gestaltet ist, so dass es für den differenzierten Einsatz unter Berücksichtigung der Heterogenität hörgeschädigter Kinder und sowohl in Förder- als auch in Regelschulen verwendet werden kann.
Alle Materialien und eine Praxiskiste werden in verschiedenen Laut- und Gebärdensprachen erstellt und kostenlos auf einer Webseite zur Verfügung gestellt.
Die Ziele werden in einer Partnerschaft von sieben Förder- und Regelschulen, Beratungs- und Koordinationsstellen sowie vier Universitäten bzw. Forschungseinrichtungen aus Deutschland, Griechenland, Zypern und der Schweiz gemeinsam realisiert.

Projektleitung
Becker, Claudia Prof. Dr. (Details) (Gebärdensprach- und Audiopädagogik)

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 12/2018
Projektende: 07/2021

Forschungsbereiche
Allgemeines und fachbezogenes Lehren und Lernen, Angewandte Sprachwissenschaften, Experimentelle Linguistik, Computerlinguistik, Entwicklungspsychologie und Pädagogische Psychologie

Forschungsfelder
Erziehungswissenschaften, Inklusionsforschung, Lehrkräftebildung, Multilingualism, Psycholinguistik

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2021-04-01 um 17:48