Automated extension of fixed point PDE solvers for optimal design with bounded retardation


In this project we investigate the "one shot"-method for solving optimal design problems, where the constraints are given by a state equation in a very large number of state and design variables.

The "one shot"-method aims at attaining feasibility and optimality of the minimization problem by simultaneously updating the design, the state and the dual variables instead of solving a discretization of the state equation in each iteration.

Therefore, the progress of the iterative method is monitored by an appropriate primal-dual augmented Lagrangian merit-function and the convergence is guaranteed by a suitable choice of design space preconditioner.

In the current research we focus on problems wit the objective and constraint function being nonseparable.

Besides that we will investigate several topics such as the introduction of stability constraints, a closer retardation factor analysis for a number of control problems as well as a mesh independence principle of the retardation factor.

Furthermore, we discuss the applicability of the "one shot" approach for time dependent problems.

Principal Investigators
Griewank, Andreas Prof. Dr. (Details) (Non-linear Optimization)

Duration of Project
Start date: 09/2009
End date: 06/2013

Last updated on 2020-13-03 at 23:06

Optimal design with bounded retardation for problems with non-separable adjoints


In diesem Projekt wird die sogenannte "one shot" Methode zur Lösung von optimalen Entwurfsproblemen untersucht, bei denen die Nebenbedingungen durch eine Zustandsgleichung bezüglich einer grossen Anzahl von Zustands- und Entwurfsvariablen beschrieben wird.

Das Ziel der "one shot" Methode ist es daher, die Zulässigkeit und Optimalität des Optimierungsproblems durch eine simultane Verbesserung der Entwurfs-, Zustands- und dualen Variablen zu erreichen anstatt in jeder Iteration eine Diskretisierung der Zustandsgleichung zu lösen.

Dafür wird der Fortschritt der iterativen Methode anhand einer geeigneten primal-dual augmentierten Lagrangefunktion überwacht und deren Konvergenz mittels einer geeigneten Wahl eines Entwurfsraum-Präkonditionierers sichergestellt.

Die aktuelle Forschungsarbeit konzentriert sich hierbei auf Probleme mit nicht-separablem Zielfunktional und Nebenbedingungen.

Darüber hinaus werden wir weitere Aspekte untersuchen, wie z.B. das Einbringen von zusätzlichen Stabilitätsbedingungen, eine genauere Analysis des "retardation"-Faktors bezüglich verschieden feiner Diskretisierungen.

Des Weiteren erörtern wir die Anwendbarkeit des "one shot" Ansatzes für zeitabhängige Probleme.

Projektleitung
Griewank, Andreas Prof. Dr. (Details) (Nichtlineare Optimierung)

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 09/2009
Projektende: 06/2013

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2020-13-03 um 23:06