Top-quark physics at colliders


The top-quark, the heaviest known elementary particle, is an excellent probe of the fundamental interactions at (sub)attometer distances. Theoretical investigations of the production and decay of these quarks are essential for the analysis of the corresponding experimental data collected at Tevatron and LHC. Any observed deviation from the theoretical predictions could be a sign of new physics beyond the established standard model.

While in the previous funding period the focus was on top-quark pair production we plan in the current funding period (2011-2014) to make precise predictions of the production of single top (anti)quarks at the Tevatron and the LHC.

In addition, we plan to investigate possible new interactions of top quarks. Since top-quark physics is a sensitive tool to explore the mechanism of electroweak symmetry breaking --- realised in the standard model via the Higgs mechansim--- the effects of non-standard Higgs bosons on top quark production will also be investigated.

Principal Investigators
Uwer, Peter Prof. Dr. rer. nat. (Details) (Theoretical Physics / Phenomenology of Elementary Particles beyond the Standard Model)

Participating external organizations

Duration of Project
Start date: 01/2009
End date: 12/2014

Research Areas
Nuclear and Elementary Particle Physics, Quantum Mechanics, Relativity, Fields

Research Areas
Theoretische Elementarteilchenphysik

Publications
"Calculation of two-loop QCD corrections for hadronic single top-quark production in the t channel"
M. Assadsolimani, P. Kant, B. Tausk, P. Uwer (Humboldt U., Berlin), Phys.Rev. D90 (2014) no.11, 114024

Last updated on 2020-14-03 at 23:17

Topquarkphysik an Hadronbeschleunigern


Das Topquark als schwerstes bisher entdecktes Elementarteilchen ist eine exzellente Probe der fundamentalen Kräfte bei (sub)Attometer Distanzen. Theoretische Untersuchungen zur Produktion und Zerfall von Topquarks sind essentiel für die Analyse der experimentellen Topquarkdaten. Der Vergleich der experimentellen Resultate mit den theoretischen Vorhersagen ermöglicht, die Standardtheorie der Elementarteilchenphysik mit hoher Genauigkeit zu testen. Etwaige Abweichungen im Vergleich von Theorie und Experiment könnten ein erstes Anzeichen von "Neuer Physik" jenseits der etablierten Standardtheorie bedeuten.

In der aktuellen Förderperiode des Sonderforschungsbereiches SFB-TR9 (2011-2014) planen wir präzise Vorhersagen für die Produktion einzelner Topquarks zu machen, nachdem in der Vergangenheit primär der Fokus auf die Topquarkpaarerzeugung ausgerichtet war.

Darüber hinaus sollen auch mögliche neue Wechselwirkungen des Topquarks untersucht werden.
Da das Topquark sehr sentitiv auf den Mechanismus der Elektroschwachensymmetriebrechung ist --- in der Standardtheorie der Elementarteilchenphysik durch den Higgsmechanismus realisiert ---, sollen auch die Auswirkungen von Nichtstandard-Higgsbosonen auf die Topquarkproduktion untersucht werden.

Projektleitung
Uwer, Peter Prof. Dr. rer. nat. (Details) (Th.Physik (Phänomenol.d.Elementarteil.ph. jens.d.Standardmodell))

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 01/2009
Projektende: 12/2014

Forschungsbereiche
Kern- und Elementarteilchenphysik, Quantenmechanik, Relativitätstheorie, Felder

Forschungsfelder
Theoretische Elementarteilchenphysik

Publikationen
"Calculation of two-loop QCD corrections for hadronic single top-quark production in the t channel"
M. Assadsolimani, P. Kant, B. Tausk, P. Uwer (Humboldt U., Berlin), Phys.Rev. D90 (2014) no.11, 114024

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2020-14-03 um 23:17