New oligonuclear metal catalysts for the light-driven activation of water and the reduction of CO2 (II)


First hetero-oligonuclear metal-organic compounds for the activation of water and carbon monoxide have been prepared. Their (photo)catalytic properties are currently investigated and reaction conditions are optimized. With the experiences gained new optimized catalysts for the production of hydrogen and oxygen (hydrogen fuel cell fuels) as well as CO or HCOOH as C1 building blocks shall be synthesized. In those systems, the connection of a photoactive unit with a catalytic active unit plays a major role. A well-directed photo-electron-transfer (PET) enables the provision of the required electron equivalents or holes in these photo-catalysts.
The oxidation of oxid-ions to O2 and its backreaction (O2 to H2O or H2O2), respectively, are to be investigated especially with compounds of the Hangman- and Pacman-type. The specific introduction of substituents and catalytic metal center will determine the direction of the reaction. On the one hand, ruthenium polypyridyl compounds and on the other hand high-valent manganese and iron porphyrinoids shall be employed as catalytic active unit. Studies on reduction processes, especially the light-activated reduction of CO2, are to happen using supramolecular compounds. Extended porphyrinic macrocycles function as a bridging ligand and are arranged in a way to connect a photoactive center capturing light energy with a catalytic active metal center.
The investigation of the controllability of the planned organic transformations by light, pH value, substituents and other parameters is supposed to lead to a precise product selectivity. Additionally, new insights into the elapsing processes and mechanisms shall be provided by isolation and characterization of reactive intermediates.

Principal Investigators
Schwalbe, Matthias (Details) (Inorganic and General Chemistry I)

Duration of Project
Start date: 08/2013
End date: 12/2017

Research Areas
Inorganic Molecular Chemistry

Last updated on 2021-04-01 at 13:57

Neue multinukleare Metallkatalysatoren zur lichtgetriebenen Aktivierung von Wasser und zur Reduktion von CO2 (II)


Erste heterooligonukleare metallorganische Verbindungen für die Aktivierung von Wasser und Kohlendioxid wurden hergestellt. Ihre (Photo)Katalysatoreigenschaften werden gerade intensiv untersucht und Reaktionsbedingungen optimiert. Mit den erhaltenen Ergebnissen sollen optimierte Katalysatorsysteme zur Erzeugung von Wasserstoff und Sauerstoff (Brennstoffzellentreibstoffe) sowie von CO oder HCOOH als C1 Bausteine hergestellt werden. In diesen Systemen spielt die Verknüpfung von photoaktiven mit katalytisch aktiven Metallzentren eine entscheidende Rolle. Ein gezielter Photoelektronentransfer ermöglicht die Bereitstellung der erforderlichen Elektronenäquivalente bzw. Elektronenlöcher in den Photokatalysatoren.
Die Oxidation von Oxidionen zu O2 bzw. dessen Rückreaktion (O2 zu H2O oder H2O2) soll speziell an Verbindungen des Hangman und Pacmantyps untersucht werden. Die gezielte Einführung von Substituenten und Katalysemetall(en) bestimmt die Richtung der Reaktion. Einerseits sollen dabei Rutheniumpolypyridylverbindungen als katalytisch aktive Einheit zum Einsatz kommen, andererseits auch hochvalente Mangan und Eisenporphyrinoide. Die Untersuchungen von Reduktionsprozessen, speziell die lichtaktivierte Reduktion von CO2, soll an supramolekularen Verbindungen geschehen. Ausgeweitete porphyrinoide Makrozyklen dienen als Brückenliganden und sind so aufgebaut, dass sie ein photoaktives Zentrum zum Einfangen von Lichtenergie mit einem katalytisch aktiven Metallzentrum verbinden.
Die Untersuchung der Steuerbarkeit der beabsichtigten organischen Transformationen durch Licht, pHWert, Substituenten und weitere Einflussfaktoren soll zum einen für eine gezielte Produktselektivität sorgen; zum anderen aber auch neue Einsichten in die ablaufenden Prozesse und Mechanismen, z. B. durch die Isolierung und Charakterisierung von reaktiven Intermediaten, liefern.

Projektleitung
Schwalbe, Matthias (Details) (Anorganische und Allgemeine Chemie I)

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 08/2013
Projektende: 12/2017

Forschungsbereiche
Anorganische Molekülchemie - Synthese, Charakterisierung

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2021-04-01 um 13:57