RG 2569/1: Market Integration and Border Effects in Agricultural Land Markets (SP 02)


This subproject contributes to the overall objective of the research unit by empirically studying spatial price diffusion of agricultural land markets. We borrow the notion of spatial market integration from commodity price analysis and question whether traditional concepts, such as the law of one price, are meaningful to assess the economic efficiency of agricultural land markets. Moreover, we aim at a better understanding of regional disparities in agricultural land markets by adapting and using models from economic geography. Thus, our results will provide insights into existing market rigidities and potential needs for regulations of land markets. More specifically, we will deal with the following objectives and research questions:
a) Can the concept of spatial market integration be adapted to agricultural land markets? We will scrutinize the theoretical preconditions of the law of one price and examine the effect of their violations in the context of land markets. Together with subproject 7, we will adapt concepts from economic geography to explain the coexistence of multiple spatial equilibria.
b) How can land price convergence clubs be identified? Using various spatio-temporal price diffusion models, we will identify regions showing similar price dynamics and investigate to what extent these regional markets are spatially integrated. The empirical analysis will be conducted for Germany and the Czech Republic.
c) How can the existence of convergence clubs on agricultural land markets be explained? Potential reasons could be regionally different roles of non-agricultural investors, farm size structures, or production structures. Special attention will be given to the impact of borders on the convergence of land prices. We expect that price convergence appears much faster in regions closer to the border because of a direct spillover of prices. The analysis will be carried out for Eastern and Western Germany as well as for the German-Czech border. The expected results are not only interesting from a historical perspective, but also for a better understanding of the functioning of land markets. A better understanding of the determining factors, in turn, helps to forecast the future development of regional land prices.
d) From a methodological viewpoint, which model is most suitable for the analysis and prediction of spatial price development? Three different price diffusion models that cover a wide range of the current literature will be compared: A multifactor error structure model allowing for common factors influencing price development; a nonlinear time varying factor model considering time-dependent and random effects of one common factor; and a spatio-temporal price diffusion model considering the effects of dominant regions and borders.

Spokesperson
Ritter, Matthias Prof. Dr. (Details) (Quantitative Agricultural Economics especially Applied Econometrics)
Odening, Martin Prof. Dr. agr. habil. (Details) (Agricultural Farm Management)

Duration of Project
Start date: 08/2017
End date: 04/2022

Research Areas
Agricultural Economics, Agricultural Policy, Agricultural Sociology

Last updated on 2021-30-06 at 15:53

FOR 2569/1: Marktintegration und Preiskonvergenz auf landwirtschaftlichen Bodenmärkten (TP 02)


Dieses Teilprojekt der Forschergruppe untersucht empirisch die räumliche Ausbreitung von Preisen auf landwirtschaftlichen Bodenmärkten. Dabei übernehmen wir die Idee der räumlichen Marktintegration von Rohstoffpreisen und hinterfragen, ob traditionelle Konzepte wie das „Gesetz des einheitlichen Preises“ hilfreich sind, die ökonomische Effizienz von Bodenmärkten zu untersuchen. Außerdem zielen wir auf ein besseres Verständnis der räumlichen Unterschiede auf Bodenmärkten ab, indem wir Modelle der ökonomischen Geografie übertragen und nutzen. Somit liefern unsere Ergebnisse Einblicke in bestehende Marktrigiditäten und einen möglichen Regulierungsbedarf auf Bodenmärkten. Insbesondere beschäftigen wir uns mit den folgenden Fragen und Zielen:
a) Kann das Konzept der räumlichen Marktintegration auf landwirtschaftliche Bodenmärkte übertragen werden? Wir untersuchen die theoretischen Voraussetzungen für das Gesetz des einheitlichen Preises und untersuchen die Auswirkungen im Hinblick auf landwirtschaftliche Bodenmärkte. Zusammen mit Teilprojekt 7 übertragen wir Konzepte der ökonomischen Geografie, um das Auftreten mehrerer räumlicher Gleichgewichte zu erklären.
b) Wie können Konvergenzclubs für Bodenpreise identifiziert werden? Unter Verwendung verschiedener räumlich-zeitlicher Preisdiffusionsmodelle identifizieren wir Regionen mit ähnlicher Preisdynamik und untersuchen, in welchem Maße diese regionalen Märkte räumlich integriert sind. Die empirische Analyse wird für Deutschland und Tschechien durchgeführt.
c) Wie kann die Existenz von Konvergenzclubs auf landwirtschaftlichen Bodenmärkten erklärt werden? Mögliche Gründe sind die regional unterschiedlichen Rollen von außerlandwirtschaftlichen Investoren und Betriebsgrößen oder Produktionsstrukturen. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit widmen wir den Auswirkungen von Grenzen auf die Konvergenz von Bodenpreisen. Wir erwarten, dass Preise in der Nähe von Grenzen aufgrund von direkten Spill-Over-Effekten schneller konvergieren, was wir für die ehemalige innerdeutsche sowie für die deutsch-tschechische Grenze untersuchen. Die erwarteten Ergebnisse sind nicht nur aus historischer Sicht interessant, sondern tragen auch zu einem besseren Verständnis der Funktionsweise von Bodenmärkten bei. Ein besseres Verständnis der bestimmenden Faktoren wiederum kann zur Vorhersage der zukünftigen Entwicklung von regionalen Bodenpreisen genutzt werden.
d) Welches Modell ist aus methodischer Sicht am besten zur Analyse und Vorhersage der räumlichen Preisentwicklung geeignet? Verschiedene Preisdiffusions-Modelle werden verglichen, die ein breites Spektrum der aktuellen Literatur abdecken: Ein Multi-Faktoren-Fehlerstruktur-Modell mit gemeinsamen Faktoren, die die Preisentwicklung beeinflussen; ein nichtlineares, zeitlich veränderliches Faktor-modell, das zeitabhängige und zufällige Effekte eines gemeinsamen Faktors betrachtet; und ein räumlich-zeitliches Preisdiffusions-Modell unter Berücksichtigung von dominanten Regionen und Grenzen.

Sprecher/in
Ritter, Matthias Prof. Dr. (Details) (Quantitative Agrarökonomik insbesond. angewandte Ökonometrie (J))
Odening, Martin Prof. Dr. agr. habil. (Details) (Allgemeine Betriebslehre des Landbaus)

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 08/2017
Projektende: 04/2022

Forschungsbereiche
Agrarökonomie, Agrarpolitik, Agrarsoziologie

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2021-30-06 um 15:53