PP 1665: Delineating and Testing a Microcircuit Model of Parahippocampal Phase Precession


Throughout the hippocampal formation, the firing activity of place or grid cells and the EEG theta rhythm (~8Hz) are related: When an animal enters a cell´s firing field, the first spikes arrive at a late phase of the theta oscillation. As the animal traverses the field, the spikes in subsequent cycles of the theta oscillation arrive at earlier and earlier phases. Spikes “precess” throughout the place field. Phase precession is one of the most investigated topics in systems neuroscience and might be instrumental in matching the time scale of behavioral learning, which occurs in the range of seconds or more, to the time scales of synaptic plasticity, which are often in the range of milliseconds. Previous research on phase precession resulted in a rich description of the temporal discharge phenomenology of neurons and in numerous models of phase precession. Still the mechanism(s) underlying phase precession are unknown. We will try to solve this problem by analyzing layer 3 of the entorhinal cortex, where neurons show prominent phase precession. Previous attempts to explain phase precession suffered from four intertwined problems: (1) phase precession models are typically underconstrained, (2) most studies do not formulate precise microcircuit models, (3) models are therefore not strongly predictive, (4) models are typically not tested, i.e. they are experimentally inconsequential. The unique composition and the complementary expertise of our research consortium will allow us to overcome these problems: (i) Connectivity analysis and high-resolution recordings will delineate entorhinal microcircuits with unprecedented precision. (ii) These data will be funneled into a strongly predictive microcircuit model. (iii) Accordingly, this model can be tested in vitro and in vivo. Our approach will enable us to selectively interfere with phase precession and test its role in spatial memory formation.


Principal Investigators
Kempter, Richard Prof. Dr. (Details) (Computational Neuroscience)

Further project members
Brecht, Michael Prof. Dr. (Details) (Animal Physiology/Systems Neurobiology and Neural Computation)
Schmitz, Dietmar Prof. Dr. (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

participating organizational facilities of the HU

Duration of Project
Start date: 01/2017
End date: 12/2019

Research Areas
Cognitive Neuroscience, Molecular Neuroscience and Neurogenetics, Neurosciences, Systemic Neuroscience, Computational Neuroscience, Behaviour

Publications
M. Michalikova, M. Remme, D. Schmitz, S. Schreiber, R. Kempter. Spikelets in pyramidal neurons: generating mechanisms, distinguishing properties, and functional implications. Rev. Neurosci., 10.1515/revneuro-2019-0044.

A. Holzbecher, R. Kempter. Interneuronal gap junctions increase synchrony and robustness of hippocampal ripple oscillations. Eur. J. Neurosci., 48: 3446-3465, 2018.

J.R. Donoso, D. Schmitz, N. Maier*, R. Kempter* (*co-last authors): Hippocampal ripple oscillations and inhibition-first network models: frequency dynamics and response to GABA modulators. J. Neurosci., 38: 3124-3146, 2018.

T. D'Albis, R. Kempter. A single-cell spiking model for the origin of grid-cell patterns. PLoS Comput. Biol., 13(10): e1005782, 2017.

N. Chenkov, H. Sprekeler, R. Kempter. Memory replay in balanced recurrent networks. PLoS Comput. Biol., 13(1): e1005359, 2017.

J. Winterer, N. Maier, C. Wozny, P. Beed, J. Breustedt, R. Evangelista, Y. Peng, T. D'Albis, R. Kempter, D. Schmitz. Excitatory microcircuits within superficial layers of the medial entorhinal cortex. Cell Reports, 19(6):1110-1116, 2017.

J. Jaramillo and R. Kempter. Phase precession: a neural code underlying episodic memory?
Curr. Opin. Neurobiol., 43:130-138, 2017.

Last updated on 2021-14-07 at 13:25

SPP 1665: Schaltkreis-Mechanismen der Phasenpräzession: Experiment und Theorie


Die neuronale Aktivität von Orts-und Gitterzellen in der hippokampalen Formation zeigt eine systematische Beziehung zum Theta-Rhythmus des EEGs: Wenn das jeweilige Ortsfeld durchquert wird, verschiebt sich der Zeitpunkt der Aktionspotenziale gegenüber dem Theta-Rhythmus, d.h. die Aktionspotenziale „präzessieren“. Diese sogenannte Phasenpräzession ist eines der am meisten untersuchten Phänomene in den systemischen Neurowissenschaften. Phasenpräzession könnte eine Rolle dabei spielen, die Zeitskalen synaptischer Plastizität (mit Lernregeln, die im Bereich von Millisekunden operieren) und des Lernens auf der Verhaltensebene (mit Lernregeln, die im Sekundenbereich operieren) aufeinander anzupassen. Die bisherigen Arbeiten zum Thema resultierten in umfangreichen Beschreibungen der Zeitstruktur neuronaler Aktivität im hippokampalen System und in zahlreichen Modellen der Phasenpräzession. Nichtsdestoweniger besteht nach wie vor kein Konsens wie Phasenpräzession entsteht. Neurone der Schicht 3 des entorhinalen Kortex weisen sehr ausgeprägte Phasenpräzession auf; wir werden daher unser Projekt auf dieses Hornareal fokussieren. Frühere Arbeiten zur Phasenpräzession zeigen, dass sich zwar leicht Modelle generieren lassen, aber der Ausschluss von Modellen scheitert an vier miteinander verwobenen Problemen: (1) Modelle haben zu viele freie Parameter, (2) die meisten Arbeiten formulieren keine präzisen Mikroschaltkreis-Hypothesen, (3) als Konsequenz machen diese Modelle nur schwache Voraussagen, und (4) spielen dementsprechend keine Rolle für die experimentelle Untersuchung der Phasenpräzession. Unser Forschungskonsortium hat einzigartige und komplementäre experimentelle und theoretische Expertise, um diese Probleme zu bewältigen: (i) Wir werden die entorhinalen Mikroschaltkreise mit hochauflösenden Verfahren in noch nie dagewesener Genauigkeit darstellen. (ii) Anhand dieser Ergebnisse wird ein stark prädiktives Mikroschaltkreis-Modell der Phasenpräzession generiert. (iii) Dieses Modell wird mit modernsten elektrophysiologischen und neurogenetischen Verfahren getestet. Derartige Manipulationen werden uns auch erlauben, die Verhaltensrelevanz der Phasenpräzession zu testen.


Projektleitung
Kempter, Richard Prof. Dr. (Details) (Theorie neuronaler Systeme)

Weitere Projektmitglieder
Brecht, Michael Prof. Dr. (Details) (Tierphysiologie / Systemneurobiologie und Neural Computation)
Schmitz, Dietmar Prof. Dr. (Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin)

Beteiligte Organisationseinheiten der HU

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 01/2017
Projektende: 12/2019

Forschungsbereiche
Kognitive Neurowissenschaft, Molekulare Neurowissenschaft und Neurogenetik, Neurowissenschaften, Systemische Neurowissenschaft, Computational Neuroscience, Verhalten

Publikationen
M. Michalikova, M. Remme, D. Schmitz, S. Schreiber, R. Kempter. Spikelets in pyramidal neurons: generating mechanisms, distinguishing properties, and functional implications. Rev. Neurosci., 10.1515/revneuro-2019-0044.

A. Holzbecher, R. Kempter. Interneuronal gap junctions increase synchrony and robustness of hippocampal ripple oscillations. Eur. J. Neurosci., 48: 3446-3465, 2018.

J.R. Donoso, D. Schmitz, N. Maier*, R. Kempter* (*co-last authors): Hippocampal ripple oscillations and inhibition-first network models: frequency dynamics and response to GABA modulators. J. Neurosci., 38: 3124-3146, 2018.

T. D'Albis, R. Kempter. A single-cell spiking model for the origin of grid-cell patterns. PLoS Comput. Biol., 13(10): e1005782, 2017.

N. Chenkov, H. Sprekeler, R. Kempter. Memory replay in balanced recurrent networks. PLoS Comput. Biol., 13(1): e1005359, 2017.

J. Winterer, N. Maier, C. Wozny, P. Beed, J. Breustedt, R. Evangelista, Y. Peng, T. D'Albis, R. Kempter, D. Schmitz. Excitatory microcircuits within superficial layers of the medial entorhinal cortex. Cell Reports, 19(6):1110-1116, 2017.

J. Jaramillo and R. Kempter. Phase precession: a neural code underlying episodic memory?
Curr. Opin. Neurobiol., 43:130-138, 2017.

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2021-14-07 um 13:25