EnMAP Science Advisory Group - Monitoring Vegetation under Global Change


EnMAP (Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program) is a German hyperspectral satellite mission which will provide high quality hyperspectral image data on a timely and frequent basis. The mission aims to support the retrieval of a variety of terrestrial and aquatic parameters essential for the quantification and modelling of ecosystem processes. EnMAP will both contribute to a better understanding of the of complex Earth systems and to the sustainable management of natural resources. As part of the scientific preparation of the EnMAP mission, the Earth Observation Lab of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin focuses on the development of algorithms and the assessment of EnMAP’s potential to analyse the spatial-temporal dynamics of (semi-)natural ecosystems and their services.
This third phase of the EnMAP project is focusing on the monitoring of different (semi-) natural ecosystems in California, USA. Analyses focus on the characterization of vegetation types, conditions, phenology and ecosystem disturbances like fire or drought. Simulated multi-temporal EnMAP data covering large areas across a wide range of different ecoregions are used for this purpose, and analyses focus on the implementation of spatially and temporally generalized empirical machine learning models as well as potential synergies with Landsat and Sentinel-2. This project follows ECST phases I & II entitled “Natural Ecosystems and Ecosystem Transitions”.

Principal Investigators
Hostert, Patrick Prof. Dr. (Details) (Geomatics)

Duration of Project
Start date: 01/2017
End date: 11/2020

Research Areas
Geodesy, Photogrammetry, Remote Sensing, Geoinformatics, Cartography

Research Areas
Hyperspektrale Fernerkundung, Klassifikations- und Regressionsansätze, Ökosystemstörungen, Vegetationsfernerkundung, Zeitreihenanalyse

Publications
Cooper, S., Okujeni, A., Jaenicke, C., Clark, M., van der Linden, S., & Hostert, P. (under review). Disentangling fractional vegetation cover: regression-based unmixing of simulated spaceborne imaging spectroscopy data. Remote Sensing of Environment
Jänicke, C., Okujeni, A., Cooper, S., Clark, M., Hostert, P., & van der Linden, S. (2020). Brightness gradient-corrected hyperspectral image mosaics for fractional vegetation cover mapping in northern California. Remote Sensing Letters, 11, 1-10
Okujeni, A., Canters, F., Cooper, S.D., Degerickx, J., Heiden, U., Hostert, P., Priem, F., Roberts, D.A., Somers, B., & van der Linden, S. (2018). Generalizing machine learning regression models using multi-site spectral libraries for mapping vegetation-impervious-soil fractions across multiple cities. Remote Sensing of Environment, 216, 482-496

Last updated on 2021-03-06 at 16:25

EnMAP Science Advisory Group - Monitoring von Vegetation in Zeiten des globalen Wandels


EnMAP (Environmental Mapping and Analysis Program) ist eine deutsche hyperspektrale Satellitenmission, die zeitnah und regelmäßig qualitativ hochwertige hyperspektrale Bilddaten liefern wird. Das Hauptziel des Programms besteht in der Ableitung einer breiten Palette an Oberflächenparametern terrestrischer und aquatischer Ökosysteme. Diese Parameter bilden die Grundlage für die Quantifizierung und Modellierung entscheidender Ökosystemprozesse. EnMAP soll somit sowohl zu einem besseren Verständnis des komplexen Systems Erde, als auch zum nachhaltigen Management von lebenswichtigen Ressourcen beitragen. Im Rahmen der wissenschaftlichen Vorbereitung der EnMAP-Mission, liegt der Forschungsschwerpunkt des Earth Observation Labs der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin auf der Entwicklung von Algorithmen und der Abschätzung des Potentials von EnMAP-Daten zur Analyse der raum-zeitlichen Dynamik (semi-)natürlicher Ökosysteme und ihrer Ökosystemleistungen.
Die dritte Phase des EnMAP Projektes befasst sich mit dem Monitoring unterschiedlicher Naturräume Kaliforniens, USA. Im Mittelpunkt der Analysen stehen die Charakterisierung und Quantifizierung unterschiedlicher Vegetationstypen, Vegetationszuständen, Phänologie und ökosystemarer Störereignisse wie Feuer oder Dürre. Als Grundlage dienen simulierte EnMAP-Daten, welche großflächig und zu multi-saisonalen Zeitpunkten verschiedene Ökoregionen abdecken. Methodisch steht die Implementierung von räumlich und zeitlich generalisierter empirischer Modelle des maschinellen Lernens sowie die Evaluierung von potenziellen Synergien mit Landsat und Sentinel-2 Daten im Fokus. Dieses Projekt folgt den ECST-Phasen I und II mit dem Titel „Natürliche Ökosysteme und Ökosystemübergänge“.

Projektleitung
Hostert, Patrick Prof. Dr. (Details) (Geomatik)

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 01/2017
Projektende: 11/2020

Forschungsbereiche
Geodäsie, Photogrammetrie, Fernerkundung, Geoinformatik, Kartographie

Forschungsfelder
Hyperspektrale Fernerkundung, Klassifikations- und Regressionsansätze, Ökosystemstörungen, Vegetationsfernerkundung, Zeitreihenanalyse

Publikationen
Cooper, S., Okujeni, A., Jaenicke, C., Clark, M., van der Linden, S., & Hostert, P. (under review). Disentangling fractional vegetation cover: regression-based unmixing of simulated spaceborne imaging spectroscopy data. Remote Sensing of Environment
Jänicke, C., Okujeni, A., Cooper, S., Clark, M., Hostert, P., & van der Linden, S. (2020). Brightness gradient-corrected hyperspectral image mosaics for fractional vegetation cover mapping in northern California. Remote Sensing Letters, 11, 1-10
Okujeni, A., Canters, F., Cooper, S.D., Degerickx, J., Heiden, U., Hostert, P., Priem, F., Roberts, D.A., Somers, B., & van der Linden, S. (2018). Generalizing machine learning regression models using multi-site spectral libraries for mapping vegetation-impervious-soil fractions across multiple cities. Remote Sensing of Environment, 216, 482-496

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2021-03-06 um 16:25