PP 1764/2: The German Labor Market in a Globalised World: Challenges through Trade, Technology, and Demographics


The recent severe recession has led to a reassessment of labour market policies across many industrialised countries. Technological change and changes in the division of labour, trade liberalisation, increasing labour mobility, demographic changes, low fertility rates, changes in labour force participation as well as labour market reforms have reshaped the way economies and their labour markets operate. The central purpose of the Priority Programme is to develop a deeper understanding of the challenges facing labour markets in Germany in particular and throughout Europe in a global context.
The Priority Programme addresses pertinent research issues on the link between trade, technology and demographic changes as they affect wages and employment. In an international perspective, the Priority Programme will analyse empirically the way the German labour market works with particular emphasis on labour market flows, on the role of institutions and policies, on the explanation for the increase in inequality, on demographic changes and on the links to education and important non-economic motives and outcomes.
An understanding of these issues is key for policies relating to skills development of the population at all ages, family issues and gender in the labour market, demography, child development, health, social policies, crime, immigration, as well as the macroeconomic performance of the labour market. The challenges posed by competition and potential immigration combined with demographic developments will not only affect various labour market groups in different ways, but also force human resource management practices to adapt.
The Priority Programme will take an interdisciplinary approach linking economic research with research in sociology and in human resource management and organisation in business administration. Building on theoretical contributions, the Priority Programme mainly involves empirical research making use of large micro-data sets with an emphasis on a comprehensive descriptive analysis or on estimating causal effects in the treatment-control group paradigm.
A particular focus will be given to projects that investigate labour market flows from micro- and macro-economic perspectives. Trademarks of this Priority Programme are the access to individual-level and firm-level labour market data of exceptional quality, state-of-the-art experiments and the close link to the policy debate.

Principal Investigators
Spitz-Oener, Alexandra Prof. Dr. (Details) (Political Economics (Applied Microeconomics))

Duration of Project
Start date: 10/2017
End date: 03/2021

Research Areas
Humanities and Social Sciences

Last updated on 2021-03-08 at 12:52

SPP 1764/2: Der deutsche Arbeitsmarkt in der Globalisierung: Herausforderungen durch Handel, Technologie und Demografie


Der wesentliche Zweck dieses Schwerpunktprogramms besteht in der Entwicklung eines tieferen Verständnisses für die Herausforderungen des europäischen und insbesondere des deutschen Arbeitsmarkts in einem globalen Kontext. Das Programm befasst sich dabei mit den einschlägigen Forschungsfragen des Zusammenhangs von Globalisierung, technologischem Wandel und demografischen Veränderungen und deren Effekt auf Beschäftigung und Löhne. Mithilfe einer internationalen Perspektive analysiert das Schwerpunktprogramm empirisch, wie der deutsche Arbeitsmarkt funktioniert. Dabei wird gleichzeitig ein Schwerpunkt auf Arbeitsmarktbewegungen, die Rolle von Institutionen und Politik, die Erklärung der ansteigenden Ungleichheit und demografischer Veränderungen gelegt. Außerdem wird die Rolle von Qualifikationen und wichtigen nicht ökonomischen Motiven und Auswirkungen beleuchtet.
Das Verständnis dieser Aspekte ist der Schlüssel für politische Maßnahmen im Arbeitsmarktbereich in Bezug auf Weiterbildung und Qualifikation der Bevölkerung unabhängig von Alter, Familienstand und Geschlecht. Des Weiteren können diese Erkenntnisse dazu beitragen, politische Strategien bezüglich der Demografie, Gesundheitspolitik, Sozialpolitik, Kriminalität, Immigration und der makroökonomischen Leistung des Arbeitsmarkts zu entwickeln. Die Herausforderungen, ausgelöst durch globalen Wettbewerb und Immigration in Verbindung mit dem demografischen Wandel, werden nicht nur verschiedene Gruppen von Beschäftigten betreffen, sondern auch die Methoden des Personalmanagements verändern.
Das Schwerpunktprogramm verfolgt einen interdisziplinären Ansatz, der wirtschaftswissenschaftliche und soziologische Forschung mit Methoden des Personalmanagements und der Organisation der Betriebswirtschaftslehre verbindet. Mit Rückgriff auf große Mikrodatensätze umfasst das Schwerpunktprogramm hauptsächlich empirische Forschung, deren Schwerpunkt zum einen auf einer umfangreichen deskriptiven Analyse und zum anderen auf der Einschätzung kausaler Effekte im Sinne eines Behandlungs- und Kontrollgruppen-Paradigmas beruht.
Ein spezieller Fokus liegt dabei auf Projekten, die Arbeitsmarktbewegungen aus mikro- und makroökonomischer Perspektive untersuchen. Markenzeichen dieses Schwerpunktprogramms sind der Zugang zu Arbeitsmarktdaten außergewöhnlicher Qualität auf Unternehmens- und Individualebene, Experimente nach dem neuesten Stand der Forschung und die enge Verknüpfung zur aktuellen politischen Debatte.

Projektleitung
Spitz-Oener, Alexandra Prof. Dr. (Details) (Volkswirtschaftslehre (angewandte Mikroökonomik))

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 10/2017
Projektende: 03/2021

Forschungsbereiche
Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2021-03-08 um 12:52