FOR 2569/2: Efficiency of agricultural land markets – The role of liquidity and competition

Subproject 2 investigates price formation on agricultural land markets considering the interplay of (incomplete) competition, structural change, and market liquidity. The core question is: Are observed land transactions and prices the outcome of an efficient reallocation of a scarce resource or are they plagued by the exercise of market power resulting from the immobility of land? Furthermore, is the low observed liquidity in land markets the result of dynamically optimal decisions of market participants or is it an indicator of market inefficiency in the sense that observed prices do not reflect available information on farmland values? Finding answers to these questions is of utmost importance for this research unit because they may or may not provide the rationale for land market regulation.
In general, market liquidity in the sense of market depth and immediacy is closely related to market efficiency: It describes the ability of market participants to realize desired buy or sell transactions without a time delay. The determinants and impact of liquidity are well-explored in financial markets. However, there is little knowledge about the relationship between market liquidity and prices on land markets. Our objective here is twofold: First, we intend to measure market liquidity on land markets with different indicators and methods. Second, using a real options approach, we strive for a microeconomic explanation of market liquidity, focusing on the supply side of the market.
A major concern about unregulated land markets is that the resulting allocation of land fosters an undesired agricultural structure in a sense that large industrialized farms gain a competitive advantage over smaller family farms and that young farmers with financial constraints cannot compete with financial investors. We will empirically explore farms’ growth decisions, accounting for their relative market position. We include indicators of competitiveness, particularly concentration measures, and farm characteristics into our analysis. Computing concentration measures that serve as a proxy to power on the land market requires defining the relevant market, which is a specific sub-goal of our analysis.
On thin farmland markets with heterogeneous land, a gap between the willingness to pay of buyers/tenants and the willingness to accept of land owners results in a bargaining process over the price of land. Until now, bargaining power has been examined in the literature to the extent that hedonic pricing models under perfect competition have been adapted to thin markets with heterogeneous goods. We complement these econometric approaches with the development and estimation of a structural model. To this end, we derive a bargaining model from game theory literature, such as the ultimatum game and sequential bargaining models.

Spokesperson
Ritter, Matthias Prof. Dr. (Details) (Quantitative Agricultural Economics especially Applied Econometrics)
Odening, Martin Prof. Dr. agr. habil. (Details) (Agricultural Farm Management)

Financer
DFG: Forschergruppen

Duration of Project
Start date: 08/2020
End date: 07/2023

Research Areas
Agricultural Economics and Sociology, Agriculture, Forestry and Veterinary Medicine, Life Sciences

Last updated on 2020-26-08 at 15:09

FOR 2569/2: Effizienz auf landwirtschaftlichen Bodenmärkten – Die Rolle von Liquidität und Wettbewerb

Teilprojekt 2 untersucht die Preisbildung auf Bodenmärkten und dabei insbesondere das Zusammenspiel von (unvollständigem) Wettbewerb, Strukturwandel und Liquidität des Marktes. Die Kernfrage lautet: Sind die beobachteten Transaktionen und Preise das Ergebnis einer effizienten Umverteilung einer knappen Ressource oder sind sie beeinflusst durch die Ausübung von Marktmacht aufgrund der Immobilität von Boden? Und ist die beobachtete geringe Liquidität auf Bodenmärkten das Ergebnis von optimalen Entscheidungen der Marktteilnehmer oder ist sie ein Anzeichen für Marktineffizienz, da die beobachteten Preise nicht die verfügbare Information über den Wert des Bodens widerspiegeln? Diese Fragen sind von besonderer Bedeutung für die Forschungsgruppe, da ihre Beantwortung Argumente für oder gegen eine Regulierung von Bodenmärkten liefern kann.
Generell ist Marktliquidität eng verknüpft mit Markteffizienz: Sie gibt an, ob Marktteilnehmer in der Lage sind, erwünschte Kauf- oder Verkaufstransaktionen ohne Verzögerung durchzuführen. Die Einflussfaktoren und Auswirkungen von Liquidität sind gut erforscht für Finanzmärkte, allerdings ist wenig bekannt über den Zusammenhang zwischen Marktliquidität und Preisen auf Bodenmärkten. Wir wollen hier zum einen Marktliquidität auf Bodenmärkten mit verschiedenen Indikatoren und Methoden messen. Zum anderen streben wir eine mikroökonomische Erklärung der Marktliquidität mithilfe eines Realoptionsansatzes für die Angebotsseite des Marktes.
Ein Argument gegen unregulierte Bodenmärkte besteht darin, dass die resultierende Verteilung des Bodens eine unerwünschte Agrarstruktur fördert, wenn z.B. große industrialisierte Farmen einen Wettbewerbsvorteil gegenüber kleinen Familienfarmen haben oder junge Landwirte mit begrenzten finanziellen Mitteln nicht mit Finanzinvestoren mithalten können. Wir wollen die Wachstumsentscheidungen von Betrieben empirisch untersuchen und nehmen dafür Indikatoren für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, insbesondere Konzentrationsmaße, und Betriebscharakteristika in die Analyse auf. Zur Berechnung der Konzentrationsmaße, die als Proxy für die Macht auf dem Bodenmarkt dienen, muss der relevante Markt bestimmt werden, was ein erklärtes Teilziel unserer Analyse darstellt.
Auf illiquiden Bodenmärkten mit heterogenen Böden entsteht eine Lücke zwischen der Zahlungsbereitschaft von Käufern bzw. Pächtern und der Verkaufs- bzw. Verpachtungsbereitschaft von Bodenbesitzern. Dies führt zu Verhandlungen über den Preis des Bodens. Zur Untersuchung von Verhandlungsmacht wurden in der Literatur bislang vor allem hedonische Preismodelle verwendet, die an illiquide Märkte mit heterogenen Gütern angepasst wurden. Wir ergänzen diese ökonometrischen Ansätze durch die Entwicklung und Schätzung eines strukturellen Modells. Dazu leiten wir ein Verhandlungsmodell aus der Spieltheorie-Literatur her, wie z.B. das Ultimatumspiel oder sequenzielle Verhandlungsmodelle.

Sprecher/in
Ritter, Matthias Prof. Dr. (Details) (Quantitative Agrarökonomik insbesond. angewandte Ökonometrie (J))
Odening, Martin Prof. Dr. agr. habil. (Details) (Allgemeine Betriebslehre des Landbaus)

Mittelgeber
DFG: Forschergruppen

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 08/2020
Projektende: 07/2023

Forschungsbereiche
Agrar-, Forstwissenschaften und Tiermedizin, Agrarökonomie und -soziologie, Lebenswissenschaften

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2020-26-08 um 15:09