Profiling as method to identify relevant metabolites for phenological modelling

After decades of active research on dormancy of woody plants and the subdivision of this phase into para-, endo- and ecodormancy, these phases are still not adequately considered in phenological models. Semi-mechanistic models are still used to describe plant development in which the model parameters are optimised on phenological observations. Although this allows to find a model adapted to the data, its physiological plausibility is not guaranteed.
In a completed DFG-project, we were able to show that models for the flowering of sweet cherries, which were not tested for physiological plausibility, failed under warmer climatic conditions. On the basis of easily determinable parameters (fresh, dry matter, water content of the cherry buds) and in combination with classical approaches for the determination of endodormancy, we were able to determine for the first time the invisible phases para-, endo- and ecodormancy for the sweet cherry cultivar ‘Summit’ under field conditions. The knowledge of the length of these phases opens new possibilities for the validation of semi-mechanistic models and enables the development of new mechanistic approaches. In this regard, it was recently examined whether metabolites are related to the dormancy phases of woody plants. For sweet cherries, we were able to show that the courses of abscisic acid and sucrose are suitable markers to determine the end of endodormancy. However, these substances had significant annual variations in their concentration. In addition, phenological modelling requires multi-year data of physiologically relevant markers to account for the variability of environment in the models.
The aim of this project is to systematically investigate representatives of different groups (e.g. carbohydrates, carotenoids, amino acids) in cherry buds with regard to their involvement in the dormancy phases. Untargeted metabolite profiling should be used to get an overview of which groups of metabolites show significant changes in content during dormancy. For physiological relevant metabolites, which show significant changes in the transition of the different phases, it is necessary to proof whether a relation to the environment (air temperature, global radiation, etc.) exists, a basic requirement for phenological modelling. For those biomarkers that show a physiological plausibility and environmental control, in the second step a targeted metabolite profiling must be done, in order to determine the metabolite contents in buds over 9 years. Data for the years 2012/13-2017/18 are used to generate a mechanistic 3-phase model that considers endo-, ecodormancy and ontogenetic development in a sequential order. For model validation, data for the years 2018/19-2020/21 will be used at Berlin for internal and multi-year data at the sites Dresden and Geisenheim for external model validation. Additionally, the transferability of the modelling approach for the varieties ‘Regina’ and ‘Karina’ will be examined.

Principal Investigators
Chmielewski, Frank-Michael Prof. Dr. (Details) (Plant Cultivation)

Financer
DFG: Sachbeihilfe

Duration of Project
Start date: 01/2020
End date: 12/2022

Research Areas
Life Sciences, Plant Sciences

Research Areas
Agrarwissenschaften, Mathematical Modeling and algorithms for exascale simulations and data-intensive science, Pflanzliche Molekularbiologie

Last updated on 2020-04-09 at 08:37

Profiling als Methode zur Identifikation relevanter Metabolite für die phänologische Modellierung

Nach Jahrzehnten aktiver Forschung zur Dormanz von Gehölzen und deren Einteilung in Para-, Endo- und Ökodormanz, sind diese Phasen bis heute nicht adäquat in phänologischen Modellen berücksichtigt. Es werden immer noch semi-mechanistische Modelle zur Beschreibung der Pflanzenentwicklung verwendet, in denen die Modellparameter an phänologischen Beobachtungsdaten optimiert werden. Hierdurch ist es möglich, ein an die Daten angepasstes Modell zu finden, allerdings ist seine physiologische Plausibilität nicht garantiert.
Im Rahmen eines abgeschlossenen Projektes konnten wir zeigen, dass Modelle für den Blühbeginn der Süßkirsche, die nicht auf physiologische Plausibilität geprüft wurden, unter wärmeren Klimaverhältnissen versagen. Auf der Basis einfach zu ermittelnder Parameter (Frisch-, Trockenmasse, Wassergehalt) und in Kombination mit klassischen Ansätzen zur Bestimmung des Endes der Endodormanz, konnten wir erstmals die nicht zu beobachtenden Dormanzphasen für die Süßkirschsorte „Summit“ bestimmen. Die Kenntnis der Länge dieser Phasen eröffnet neue Möglichkeiten zur Validierung phänologischer Modelle und ermöglicht die Entwicklung neuer mechanistischer Ansätze. Diesbezüglich wird in jüngster Zeit geprüft, ob Metabolite im Zusammenhang zur Dormanz von Gehölzen stehen. An der Süßkirsche konnten wir zeigen, dass die Verläufe von Abscisinsäure und Saccharose geeignet sind, um das Ende der Endodormanz zu bestimmen. Allerdings wiesen diese Substanzen deutliche annuelle Variationen in ihrer Konzentration auf. Zudem bedarf es für die phänologische Modellierung mehrjähriger Datenreihen von physiologisch relevanten Markern, um die Variabilität der Umwelt berücksichtigen zu können.
Ziel dieses Vorhabens ist es, Vertreter verschiedener Stoffgruppen (z.B. Kohlehydrate, Carotinoide, Aminosäuren) in Kirschknospen systematisch hinsichtlich ihrer Beteiligung an den Dormanzphasen zu untersuchen. Hierzu soll ein untargeted Metabolit-Profiling genutzt werden, um zu erkennen, welche Metabolite beim Übergang der verschiedenen Dormanzphasen deutliche Gehaltsänderungen zeigen. Für physiologisch relevante Metabolite, ist zu prüfen, ob ein Bezug zur Umwelt besteht, eine Grundvoraussetzung für die phänologische Modellierung. Für diejenigen Biomarker, die physiologisch plausibel sind und eine Umweltsteuerung zeigen, sollen im zweiten Schritt, mittels targeted Metabolit-Profiling, die Metabolitgehalte in den Knospen über 9 Jahre bestimmt werden. Die Daten von 2012/13-2017/18 werden verwendet, um ein mechanistisches 3-Phasen Modell für die Kirschsorte “Summit“ zu generieren, das die Endo-, Ökodormanz und ontogenetische Entwicklung in sequentieller Abfolge berücksichtigt. Für die Modellvalidierung sollen die Analysedaten der Jahre 2018/19-2020/21 am Standort Berlin und für eine externe Validierung mehrjährige Daten der Standorte Dresden und Geiseheim genutzt werden. Zudem soll die Übertragbarkeit des Modellierungsansatzes für die Sorten „Regina“ und „Karina“ geprüft werden.

Projektleitung
Chmielewski, Frank-Michael Prof. Dr. (Details) (Pflanzenbau)

Mittelgeber
DFG: Sachbeihilfe

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 01/2020
Projektende: 12/2022

Forschungsbereiche
Lebenswissenschaften, Pflanzenwissenschaften

Forschungsfelder
Agrarwissenschaften, Mathematical Modeling and algorithms for exascale simulations and data-intensive science, Pflanzliche Molekularbiologie

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2020-04-09 um 08:37