Agricultural Systems of the Future: GreenGrass – Innovative Use of Grasslands for a Sustainable Intensification of Farming at Landscape Level, Sub-Project K: Regional Innovation Systems, Living Labs and Reflexive Design

The transdisciplinary cooperation project “GreenGrass” aims to bring ruminants back to pasture. For this purpose, new ways of sustainable, efficient and contemporary pasture farming must be developed. The consortium therefore develops and tests new technologies for grazing systems that help to reduce the need for labour and at the same time improve the manifold ecosystem functions of grasslands.

Work package 5 of the GreenGrass project analyses the innovation systems and actor demands in animal husbandry systems with grazing. In order to optimize their economic, ecological and social resilience, three living labs with participatory stakeholder networks develop design requirements and governance options.

As a cooperation between the Humboldt University of Berlin and the Grassland Centre Northwest Germany, the work package ensures that the GreenGrass innovations are user-oriented, practical, and suited to the manifold demands of grazing systems in a multifunctional agricultural landscape. This is also supposed to enable faster diffusion of the GreenGrass innovations.

The work package adopts a living lab approach. It first analyses the innovation systems which are relevant for GreenGrass and systematically maps the needs of users and other actors, including the animals. Together with the actors, the various demands for the GreenGrass innovation are systematized, weighted and translated into design requirements. The formation and maintenance of participatory actor networks aims to enable the trust relationships and learning processes with and between the local actors that are necessary for innovations. On this basis, requirements and options for an enabling governance structure for the application of the Greengrass innovation at the landscape level are formulated. In parallel to their testing, the Greengrass innovations are refined and their contribution to promoting the economic, ecological and social resilience of animal husbandry systems with grazing are assessed and optimized.

Research questions:
1. What are the needs and perceived solutions of the actors in the regional innovation systems?
2. How can the solutions developed during the GreenGrass project contribute to enhance the trust relationships and learning processes between the actors?
3. How can the GreenGrass solutions be refined in order to improve the economic, ecological and social resilience of the animal husbandry systems with grazing from the perspective of the actors? Which governance structures are needed?

Principal Investigators
Feindt, Peter H. Prof. Dr. (Details) (Agricultural and Food Policy)

Financer
BMBF

Duration of Project
Start date: 03/2019
End date: 02/2024

Research Areas
Agricultural Economics and Sociology

Research Areas
Agrar- und Ernährungspolitik

Last updated on 2020-21-10 at 15:16

Agrarsysteme der Zukunft: GreenGrass - Innovative Nutzung des Grünlands für eine nachhaltige Intensivierung der Landwirtschaft im Landschaftsmaßstab, Teilprojekt K: Regionale Innovationssysteme, Living Labs und reflexives Design

Das Ziel des transdisziplinären Kooperationsprojekts „GreenGrass“ ist es, Wiederkäuer zurück auf die Weide zu bringen. Hierzu müssen neue Wege einer nachhaltigen, effizienten und zeitgemäßen Weidewirtschaft gefunden werden. Daher entwickelt und erprobt das Konsortium neue Technologien der Weidewirtschaft, die den Arbeitsbedarf der Weidewirtschaft reduzieren helfen und die gleichzeitig die vielfältigen Ökosystemleistungen des Grünlands besser gewährleisten.

Arbeitspaket 5 des GreenGrass-Projekts analysiert die Innovationssysteme und Akteursbedürfnisse in Tierhaltungssystemen mit Weidegang. Um deren ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Resilienz zu optimieren, entwickeln drei Living Labs mit partizipativen Akteursnetzwerken Design-Anforderungen und Governance-Optionen.

Als Kooperation zwischen der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und dem Grünlandzentrum Nordwestdeutschland stellt das Arbeitspaket sicher, dass die GreenGrass-Innovationen nutzerorientiert und praxisrelevant sind und den vielfältigen Anforderungen an Weidehaltungssysteme in einer multifunktionalen Agrarlandschaft gerecht werden. Dies soll auch zur schnelleren Diffusion der GreenGrass-Innovationen beitragen.

Das Teilprojekt folgt einem Living Lab-Ansatz. Es analysiert zunächst die für GreenGrass relevanten Innovationssysteme und erhebt systematisch die Bedürfnisse der Nutzer und anderer relevanter Akteure, inklusive der Tiere. Zusammen mit den Akteuren werden die verschiedenen Anforderungen an die GreenGrass-Innovation systematisiert und gewichtet und in Design-Anforderungen übersetzt. Durch die Bildung und Pflege von partizipativen Akteursnetzwerken sollen die für Innovationen erforderlichen Vertrauensbeziehungen und Lernprozesse mit und zwischen den relevanten Praxisakteuren sichergestellt werden. Auf dieser Basis können dann Anforderungen und Optionen für die Governance-Strukturen für eine Anwendung der Greengrass-Innovation auf Landschaftsebene formuliert werden. Parallel zu ihrer Erprobung sollen die Greengrass-Innovationen verfeinert und in ihrem Beitrag zur Erhöhung der ökonomischen, ökologischen und sozialen Resilienz der Tierhaltungssysteme mit Weidegang beurteilt und optimiert werden.

Forschungsfragen:
1. Welches sind die Bedürfnisse und Lösungsvorstellungen der Akteure in den jeweiligen regionalen Innovationssystemen?
2. Wie können die in GreenGrass entwickelten Lösungen dazu beitragen, die Vertrauensbeziehungen und Lernprozesse zwischen den Akteuren zu verbessern?
3. Wie können die in GreenGrass entwickelten Lösungen verfeinert werden, um aus Sicht der Akteure die ökonomische, ökologische und soziale Resilienz der Tierhaltungssysteme mit Weidegang zu verbessern? Welche Governance-Strukturen sind dafür notwendig?

Projektleitung
Feindt, Peter H. Prof. Dr. (Details) (Agrar- und Ernährungspolitik)

Mittelgeber
BMBF

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 03/2019
Projektende: 02/2024

Forschungsbereiche
Agrarökonomie und -soziologie

Forschungsfelder
Agrar- und Ernährungspolitik

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2020-01-06 um 19:56