Establishment of global histone acetylation patterns by HAT complex SAS-I in S. cerevisiae

Eukaryotic organisms require sophisticated mechanisms to ensure that gene expression in their genome is carried out in the correct temporal and spatial manner. Posttranslational histone modifications are one mechanism by which gene expression is controlled. Among these, acetylation of H4 lysine 16 (H4 K16Ac) plays an important role in maintaining euchromatic identity. In the previous grant period, we have investigated global H4 K16Ac deposition by the histone acetyltransferase complex SAS-I in Saccharomyces cerevisiae, which lead us to identify unanticipated roles for SAS-I in transcription elongation and the suppression of cryptic initiation within ORFs.
In this proposal, we will continue this work and will define the mechanism of H4 K16Ac deposition by SAS-I. We will determine how it is connected to replication- and transcription-dependent and -independent histone deposition. Furthermore, we will determine how the chromatin assembly factors CAF-I and Asf1 contribute to steady-state H4 K16Ac levels as well as how they influence dynamic SAS-I-dependent H4 K16Ac inside and outside of S-phase. These studies are important in order to learn how SAS-I acetylation is directed to certain genomic regions and provide novel insights into the mechanisms that eukaryotes use to establish chromatin domains within their genome.

Principal Investigators
Ehrenhofer-Murray, Ann Prof. Dr. (Details) (Molecular Cell Biology)

Financer
DFG: Sachbeihilfe

Duration of Project
Start date: 08/2013
End date: 07/2014

Research Areas
General Genetics

Research Areas
Genomanalyse, Molekularbiologie

Publications
Reiter, C, Heise, F, Chung, HR, Ehrenhofer-Murray AE (2015) A link between Sas2-mediated H4 K16 acetylation, chromatin assembly in S-phase by CAF-I and Asf1, and nu-cleosome assembly by Spt6 during transcription. FEMS Yeast Res. 2015 Nov;15(7). pii: fov073.

Heise, F, Chung, HR, Weber, JM, Xu, Z, Klein-Hitpass, L, Steinmetz, LM, Vingron, M, Eh-renhofer-Murray, AE (2012). Genome-wide H4 K16 acetylation by SAS-I is deposited inde-pendently of transcription and histone exchange. Nucleic Acids Res 40(1):65-74

Last updated on 2020-16-03 at 23:20

Etablierung globaler Histonacetylierung durch den HAT-Komplex SAS-I in S. cerevisiae

Eukaryote Organismen haben komplexe Mechanismen etabliert, um Genexpression in ihrem Genom sowohl zeitlich als auch örtlich korrekt zu kontrollieren. Posttranslationale Histonmodifikationen sind ein Mechanismen der Expressionskontrolle. Dabei spielt die Acetylierung von Lysin 16 an Histon H4 (H4 K16Ac) eine entscheidende Rolle bei der Aufrechterhaltung euchromatischer Identität. In der letzten Förderperiode haben wir die globale Deposition von H4 K16Ac durch die Histonacetyltransferase SAS-I in Saccharomyces cerevisiae untersucht. Dabei haben wir unerwartete Rollen von SAS-I in der Transkriptions-Elongation und der Suppression kryptischer Initiation in ORFs gefunden.
In diesem Antrag werden wir diese Arbeit fortsetzen und die Mechanismen der H4 K16Ac Deposition durch SAS-I studieren. Wir werden bestimmen, wie sie mit Replikations- und Transkriptions-abhängiger und -unabhängiger Histondeposition enhergeht. Des weiteren werden wir untersuchen, wie die Chromatin-Assemblierungsfaktoren CAF-I und Asf1 die steady-state Menge an H4 K16Ac kontrollieren, und wie sie die dynamische H4 K16Ac durch SAS-I innerhalb und ausserhalb der S-phase beeinflussen. Diese Untersuchungen sind wichtig, um zu verstehen, wie SAS-I-abhängige Acetylierung an bestimmte genomische Regionen hingebracht wird und erlaubt neue Erkenntnisse darüber, wie Eukaryoten Chromatin-Domänen in ihrem Genom etablieren.

Projektleitung
Ehrenhofer-Murray, Ann Prof. Dr. (Details) (Molekulare Zellbiologie)

Mittelgeber
DFG: Sachbeihilfe

Laufzeit
Projektstart: 08/2013
Projektende: 07/2014

Forschungsbereiche
Allgemeine Genetik

Forschungsfelder
Genomanalyse, Molekularbiologie

Publikationen
Reiter, C, Heise, F, Chung, HR, Ehrenhofer-Murray AE (2015) A link between Sas2-mediated H4 K16 acetylation, chromatin assembly in S-phase by CAF-I and Asf1, and nu-cleosome assembly by Spt6 during transcription. FEMS Yeast Res. 2015 Nov;15(7). pii: fov073.

Heise, F, Chung, HR, Weber, JM, Xu, Z, Klein-Hitpass, L, Steinmetz, LM, Vingron, M, Eh-renhofer-Murray, AE (2012). Genome-wide H4 K16 acetylation by SAS-I is deposited inde-pendently of transcription and histone exchange. Nucleic Acids Res 40(1):65-74

Zuletzt aktualisiert 2020-16-03 um 23:20